SCENIC TOUR G - The History Loop
Featuring permanent and changing exhibitions of American art by Winslow Homer and more; Regional Art Galleries feature exhibitions of work by contemporary NYS artists; Gift Shop.
Canajoharie is a town in Montgomery County located south of the Mohawk River on the south border of the county. The Erie Canal passes along the north town line. There is a village of Canajoharie in the town.
A 1952 classic beautifully maintained Mountainview silver dinner in the heart of downtown Herkimer. Step in to be transformed to a bygone ear of simple lifestyle with quality homemade foods and outstanding service. A world and New York State record holder.
Preserving and interpreting the site of Revolutionary War Fort Plain/Fort Rensselaer. The museum houses both Revolutionary War era and Native American collections. Visitors can explore the fort's outdoor exhibits on a walking tour of the adjoining 20 acre hilltop park.
A region rich in history and tradition located at the foothills of the Adirondacks. Family oriented communities and four seasons of recreation. A diamond in the rough that provides economic development as well as a great quality of life.
The area where Ilion is located was first settled by Palatine Germans under the Burnetsfield Patent around 1725. Settlers first established residencies along Steeles Creek, which flows through the current village into the Mohawk River. Many mills were set up along the creek. After the American Revolution, a small community was set up in the area named New London. This area of the village still has buildings which use the name London.
Little Falls is nestled in a deep gorge of the Mohawk River Valley. From various vantage points, the view is compelling, if not breathtaking; the coloration in the fall being striking. The earliest settlers of the area who appeared in the first decades of the 18th century, were involved in river trade and the commerce associated with the portage or carry, around the rapids.
Mohawk was originally settled by Palatine Germans after 1722. In 1725, the Queen of England and Governor Burnet granted Mohawk to the Palatine Germans in what was known as the Burnetsfield Patent. George Washington was known to stop in Mohawk to have lunch at the Shoemaker Tavern on his way to and from Fort Stanwix in Rome, NY. Mohawk became known as Bennetts Corners after a hotel stand that was located here in 1826. In 1838, the village officially became known as Mohawk.
The RVC in downtown Canajoharie is close to the Barge Canal, Erie Canal way bike trail and I-90. Volunteer-driven and handicapped accessible, it offers tourist information about Montgomery County area attractions and accommodations, maps, travel apps, and free wifi.
Founded in 1816, it is the oldest company in the US still making its original product and the oldest continuously operating manufacturer. Visit our Country Store and Museum at the factory.
Shop Little Falls is all about building a local living economy by supporting local trade and jobs. We value ALL local businesses, big and small, and we appreciate local business owners. We all want to work to create a thriving, collaborative community where all businesses prosper and thereby contribute to the well-being of all of our citizens. It’s all about making your hard-earned money go further, fueling the local economy, and helping to preserve the unique character of Little Falls.